XX Congress, Cape Town, South Africa, 27-28 August 2012

List of Participants

Socialist International Women Pia Locatelli
  (SIW President)
  Marlène Haas
  (SIW Secretary General)

Full member organisations

Organisation of Angolan Women, OMA Maria José de Sousa Alfredo  
Popular Movement for the Liberation of Angola, MPLA Graciete Edine Dombolo  
Women's Secretariat Viviana Foresi
Socialist Party, PS Clori Yelici
Austrian Social Democratic Women Barbara Prammer
Social Democratic Party of Austria, SPÖ Gabriele Heinisch-Hosek
  Maria Jonas
  Katrin Hellwagner
Women's Organisation Victorine Dato
Social Democratic Party, PSD  
Women's Forum Nermina Zaimovic-Uzunovic
Social Democratic Party of Bosnia and Herzegovina, SDP BiH Nina Karadjinovic
Labour Women Action, AMT Miguelina Vecchio
Democratic Labour Party, PDT Dejanira Bernardo de Chagas
Social Democratic Women's Confederation Iglika Ivanova
Bulgarian Social Democrats Svetlina Yolcheva
Union of Socialist Women for Parity and Solidarity Deniza Slateva
Bulgarian Socialist Party, BSP Nevena Aleksieva
Social Democratic Front, SDF Chantal Kambiwa
Liberal Party of Colombia, PLC Ivonne González Rodriguez
Social Democratic Women's Forum Karolina Leakovic
Social Democratic Party, SDP  
Socialist Women's Movement Roulla Mavronikola
Movement of Social Democrats, EDEK  
Commission for Equality Kirsten Johannsen
Social Democratic Party  
Dominican Federeration of Social Democratic Women, FEDOMUSDE Janet Camilo
Dominican Revolutionary Party, PRD  
Social Democratic Women in Finland Merja-Hannele Vuohelainen
Finnish Social Democratic Party, SDP  
Federation of Social Democratic Women, ASF  Elke Ferner
Social Democratic Party of Germany, SPD Evelyne Gebhardt
Women's Department Antigoni Karali-Dimitriadi
Panhellenic Socialist Movement, PASOK  
Union of Haitian Social Democrats Jessie Ewald Benoit
Women's Section Zita Gurmai
Hungarian Socialist Party, MSzP  
Forum for Gender Equality Ester Levanon-Murdoch
Meretz Party  
National Women's Organisation, ONMPRI Tatiana Telles Calderón
Institutional Revolutionary Party, PRI  
Social Democracy-Mongolian Women's Association Enke Enkhjargal Danzanbaljir
Mongolian People's Party, MPP  
National Secretariat for Women Ouafa Hajji
Socialist Union of Popular Forces, USFP Khadija Qariani
  Nouha Chekrouni
  Rhizlaine Benachir
  Khaoula Lachguar
Women in the PvdA Kirsten Meijer
Labour Party, PvdA Marije Laffeber
Women's Commission Margarita Zapata
Sandinista National Liberation Front, FSLN  
Tarayya Women's Organisation, OFT  Ousséini Hadizatou Yacouba 
Party for Democracy and Socialism of Niger, PNDS  Diarra Fatimata Ly 
  Béty Aichatou 
Women's Network  Lisse Christofffersen
Norwegian Labour Party, DNA Mary Aaby West
National Department of Socialist Women Ana Pasos
Socialist Party, PS  
ANC Women's League Sisisi Tolashe
African National Congress, ANC Mpai Mogorosi
  Yatima Nahara
  Tankiso Morule
  Bulelwa Tinto
  Caroline Makasi
Secretariat for Equality Purificación Causapié
Spanish Socialist Workers' Party, PSOE  
National Federation of Social Democratic Women in Sweden, SSKF Lena Sommestad
Swedish Social Democratic Party, SAP Mona Sahlin
Social Democratic Women of Switzerland Barbara Berger
Social Democratic Party of Switzerland, SP/PS  
Women's Branch Hilal Dokuzcan
Republican People's Party, CHP Nurlu Erkan
  Gökce Piskin
  Zulal Atalay
Feminist Commission Maria Svart
Democratic Socialist of America, DSA  

Consultative member organisations

Ukrainian Roses Olena Skomoroshchenco
Social Democratic Party of Ukraine, SDPU  

Observer member organisations

Palestinian National Initiative, PNI Bahia Amra
A Just Russia Party Nataliya Velikaya
Women's Assembly Gültan Kisanak
Peace and Democracy Party, BDP  

Associated member organisations

Party of European Socialist, PES Lesia Radelicki

Guest Organisations

Kurdistan Democratic Women Union Golaleh Sharafkandi  
Kurdistan Democratic Party, KDP-I  
The All-National Social Democratic Party, AZAT Marina Sabitova
Labour Party of Kenya Alice Were
Congress of South African Trade Unions, COSATU Gertrude Mtsweni
  Buyiswa Matika
Pregressive Women's Movement of South Africa, PWMSA Mpho Monorela
  Maria Mamedzi
  Pauline Panyane
  Lindi Mdluli
  Agnes Tuck
  Nowethu Tolbat
  Jane Mangange
  Bosa Ledwaba
  Segwana Kentse
  Sbo Nwapho
  Zodwa Mnguni
  Abegail Mathebula
  Violet Siwela
South African Communist Party Nomonde Rasmeni
  Celiwe Madlopha
SIW Secretariat
  Janice Flower
  Valerie Pierres




Nobel Peace Prize 2018

05 October 2018

The Socialist International Women (SIW) would like to warmly congratulate the Congolese doctor Denis Mukwege and Yazidi campaigner Nadia Murad on winning the 2018 Nobel peace prize for their work on combating sexual violence...

Obituary - Maria Jonas

01 February 1940 - 25 September 2018

We were deeply saddened to hear today that our comrade and friend Maria Jonas, former Secretary General of Socialist International Women, has died at the age of 78 years...

Coucil Meeting

Geneva, Switzerland, 28 and 29 June 2018

For a World 50-50 in 2030 – The Great Challenges

Socialist International Women denounces brutal attacks on Palestinian demonstrators

17 May 2018

The Socialist International Women strongly denounces the use of lethal fire by Israeli military forces against Palestinian demonstrators in Gaza on Sunday 14 May 2018...

Connecting Rural Women – E-Development and Rural Women's Empowerment

16 March 2018

62nd Session of the Commission on the Status of Women (CSW), United Nations, New York, from 12 to 23 March 2018

Side Event hosted by the Permanent Mission of Mongolia to the UN; the Mongolian People’s Party; Socialist International Women(SIW) and PES Women

Empowering Rural Women: Granting Universal Rights to Sexual and Reproductive Health Services

15 March 2018

62nd Session of the Commission on the Status of Women (CSW), United Nations, New York, from 12 to 23 March 2018

Parallel Event hosted by the Socialist International Women (SIW), PES Women and Foundation for European Progressive Studies (FEPS)

International Women's Day Declaration

08 March 2018

In solidarity and recognition of the immense societal, economic and political achievements of women and girls worldwide Socialist International Women is proud to support International Women’s Day (IWD) 2018...

Statement on Unilateral Decision by the United States of America to Recognise Jerusalem as the Capital of Israel

07 December 2017

The Socialist International Women (SIW) disapproves the decision of President Trump to recognise Jerusalem as the capital of Israel and relocate the US embassy there from Tel Aviv...

International Day for the Elimination of Violence against Women

25 November 2017

Socialist International Women affirms its support for the International Day for the Elimination of Violence against Women as an opportunity to focus on the continuing suffering and oppression of women and girls worldwide, and the vital roles that governments and individuals have in creating positive change...

Council Meeting

Barcelona, Spain, 21 and 22 November 2017

Democracy in Crisis, Populism on the Rise - Where do Women's Rights fit in?

Council Meeting

United Nations, New York, 14 July 2017

Rural Areas, Media and ICT - New Challenges and More Opportunities for Women’s Empowerment

In Memory of Carmen Chacón

13 March 1971 - 09 April 2017

The Socialist International Women was deeply saddened to receive the news of the death of Carmen Chacón on 09 April 2017 at the age of 46 years...

Council Meeting and XXI Congress

25 - 27 February 2017

Gender Inequality in the World Today – Understanding the New Challenges and Ending Gender Inequality by 2030


The First Hundred Years

A Short History of Socialist International Women

By Irmtraut Karlsson

This book tells the history of the first one hundred years of the Socialist International Women